Kappa Alpha Order


Largest Celebration to Date

11000328_10152918504032284_8778435376021552039_oThe Dallas, Texas Sesquicentennial Regional Celebration held at the Dallas Country Club was a huge success. Although Dallas experienced some winter weather prior to the event, it was well attended by over 300 people which makes it the largest nationally organized KA event to date outside of a Convention. The evening was filled with some great food, fellowship of brothers, and recognition of those who have served the Order faithfully. Actives, alumni and their guests also enjoyed taking photos on the red carpet and viewing some pieces of KA history that have never been seen on display. You can view photos from the event by liking Kappa Alpha Order’s Facebook page and visiting the photo album Dallas, Texas Sesquicentennial Celebration

The Mikell and Walsh Province Courts of Honor were jointly held inducting the following alumni who have proved to deserve the best of us. 

mikell_walsh_court of honor

Wesley J. Bement (Delta Iota – Texas-Arlington ’90)
Anthony Noel Briggle (Beta Lambda – Southern Methodist ’56)
David Beal Carothers (Alpha Upsilon – Mississippi ’88)
Clifford Allen Clark (Delta Iota – Texas-Arlington ’88)
Ted A. Crawford (Delta Kappa – Stephen F. Austin ’83)
Mark James Dodson (Gamma Upsilon – Texas A&M-Commerce ’75)
Bradley V. Featherstone (Gamma Omega – Midwestern State ’93)
Robert Douglas Foster (Gamma Sigma – West Texas A&M ’96)
Michael Howard Gann (Gamma Upsilon – Texas A&M Commerce ’75)
Thad W. Holt, IV (Beta Lambda – Southern Methodist ’88)
Toya Shea McLeod (Gamma Sigma – West Texas A&M ’00)
Kenneth Todd Rolen (Gamma Upsilon – Texas A&M Commerce ’81)
Josh Dean Shaul (Gamma Upsilon – Texas A&M Commerce ’98)
Jeffrey A. Sheehan (Beta Lambda – Southern Methodist ’81)
Michael Kenneth Solberg (Beta Lambda – Southern Methodist ’81)
Walter Justin Swinhoe (Gamma Sigma – West Texas A&M ’98)
Brandon Clay Williams (Gamma Upsilon – Texas A&M Commerce ’99)
David Regain Worley (Gamma Upsilon – Texas A&M Commerce ’97)
Alfred Westmoreland Young (Beta Lambda – Southern Methodist ’78)


The second special edition rifle was raffled during the Dallas celebration, and the lucky ticket was drawn by KA’s first lady, Mrs. Linda Dreyer. Clyde M. Jones (Xi – Southwestern ’66) took home this beautiful, limited Sesquicentennial Edition Uberti/Winchester 1873 rifle finished in 24-carat gold, antique gold, high-gloss nickel and black chrome. Another rifle will be given away in the next set of 50 tickets. For your chance to win, make a $100 donation to the KAOEF by clicking here and including the word “Rifle” in the special account designation field.

Joel Alan Nickles (Delta Sigma – Houston Baptist ’74) was recognized by Knight Commander William E. Dreyer with the Knight Commander’s Accolade for his service to the Delta Sigma and Beta Xi chapters, his assistance with the re-chartering of Gamma Mu chapter, and his efforts in the founding of the Houston Baptist University Alumni Association and the newly formed Houston Area KA Alumni Association. Click here to read more on Joel Alan Nickles.

Kappa Alpha Order and the Kappa Alpha Order Educational Foundation would like to thank our Alumni Host Committee:

Bryan G. Barretto (Gamma Lambda – North Texas ’87)
Blake E. Benney (Gamma Lambda – North Texas ’86)*
W. Ross Bolen (Epsilon Iota – Texas State ’05)*
Robert T. Butler (Psi – Tulane ’89)
S. Clay Camp (Alpha Upsilon – Mississippi ’92)
Andrew P. Carr (Epsilon Iota – Texas State ’04)
F. Michael Carr (Epsilon Iota – Texas State ’00)
Scott D. Carter (Epsilon Iota – Texas State ’01)*
Jay D. Chamberlain (Gamma Lambda – North Texas ’86)*
Barry B. Donnell (Beta Lambda – Southern Methodist ’58)* 
William E. Dreyer (Alpha Delta – William Jewell ’57)*
J. Michael Duncan (Delta Kappa – Stephen F. Austin ’69)*
Chris E. Elliston (Epsilon Delta – Texas A&M ’89) 
E. Bryan Gentle (Xi – Southwestern ’70)
Hon. Paul W. Green (Omicron – Texas ’71)
Loren Hanson (Alpha Kappa – Missouri)*
Mitchell S. Hill (Gamma Omega – Midwestern State ’87)*
David T. Martineau V (Alpha Upsilon – Mississippi ’88)*
Charles W. Masoner (Gamma Lambda – North Texas ’88)
James D. McBride III (Omicron – Texas ’80) 
J. Coleman McDowell Jr. (Gamma Chi – Texas Tech ’78)*
Stephen A. Miller (Gamma Lambda – North Texas ’93)
Alan T. Neuhoff (Alpha Mu – Millsaps ’90)
James C. O’Neal (Epsilon Delta – Texas A&M ’88)
MAJ Edward S. Oglesby (Delta Iota – Texas-Arlington ’92)
D. Mitchell Sheaffer (Epsilon Iota – Texas State ’00)
Dr. Idris R. Traylor, Jr. (Gamma Chi – Texas Tech ’70)*
Andrew M. Tripodo (Xi – Southwestern ’04) 
W. Madison Wickham (Epsilon Iota – Texas State ’03)*
Larry S. Wiese (Gamma Omega – Midwestern State ’87)*
Ryan T. Young (Epsilon Iota – Texas State ’01)*
*asterix indicates a further commitment as a donor to the Sesquicentennial

Blog Categories