Kappa Alpha Order

77th Convention
& Brotherhood Weekend

Brothers & Friends Recognized at the 77th Convention in St. Louis

The 77th Convention & Brotherhood Weekend was held in St. Louis, Missouri, at the Hyatt Regency at the Arch. Along with completing the business of the Order, many alumni and friends of KA were recognized for various reasons ranging from service to the Order, to giving back to the local community, to saving lives.

Knight Commander’s Accolade
Knight Commander Darren S. Kay bestowed the Knight Commander’s Accolade upon four distinguished brothers for their excellence in leadership and service to the Order. It is the highest individual honor an alumnus can receive.

Stephen E. Foster (Beta Chi–West Virginia Wesleyan ’68)
Marshall James “Jim” Donathan Jr. (Alpha Omega–North Carolina State ’72)
Samuel D. Wyche (Iota–Furman ’66)
Dr. James M. “Jim” Schmuck (Alpha Eta–Westminster ’69)





Award for Distinguished Public Service
Kappa Alpha Order is proud to boast at least fourteen active and retired members of the Missouri judiciary, from associate judges to current and past Chief justices of the Missouri Supreme Court. At the Convention in St. Louis,  seven of these KA brothers were recognized with the Award for Distinguished Public Service.

  • Hon. Robert M. Clayton, III (Beta Lambda–Southern Methodist ’88), Judge of the Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern District
  • Hon. Zel M. Fischer (Alpha Delta–William Jewell ’82), current Chief Justice of the Missouri Supreme Court
  • Hon. Mark D. Pfeiffer (Alpha Eta–Westminster ’86), Judge of the Missouri Court of Appeals, Western District
  • Hon. Roy L. Richter (Beta Iota–Drury ’69), Judge of the Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern District
  • Hon. Kenneth M. Romines (Alpha Delta–William Jewell ’63), retired Judge of the Missouri Court of Appeals Eastern District
  • Hon. Gary Schmidt (Alpha Eta–Westminster ’66), retired Associate Circuit Judge of Moniteau County, Missouri
  • Hon. Gary D. Witt (Alpha Delta–William Jewell ’84), Judge of the Missouri Court of Appeals, Western District

Knight Commander’s Medal

The Knight Commander’s Medal was established in 2007 by the Executive Council, at the request of Former Knight Commander J. Michael Duncan, to recognize brothers who demonstrate “Courage” and “Character” in the face of “Adversity.” Knight Commander Darren S. Kay bestowed the Knight Commander’s Medals upon the following men during the 77th Convention & Brotherhood Weekend.

Andrew James Crawford (Zeta Tau–Austin Peay State ’16)
Trenton Daniel Alan Delane (Zeta Tau–Austin Peay State ’15)
Scott Mercer Heath (Rho–South Carolina ’13)
Matthew Brandon Hogan (Zeta Tau–Austin Peay State ’14)
Austin James Irish (Rho–South Carolina’12)
Taylor Austin Jones (Rho–South Carolina ’12)
Logan Breeding McVey (Rho–South Carolina ’12)
Evan Joel Parker (Rho–South Carolina ’13)
Samuel Ames Russell (Rho–South Carolina ’12)
Christopher Adam Walker (Zeta Tau–Austin Peay State ’15)
Hunter Jacob Winters (Zeta Tau–Austin Peay State ’16)


Awards from the North-American Interfraternity Conference (NIC)

Kappa Alpha Order is proud to have honored individuals who have been recognized by the North-American Interfraternity Conference (NIC) for their leadership and service to the fraternal movement and Greek community during the Interfraternal Recognition Luncheon.

NIC Silver Medal
Gregory R. Singleton (Gamma Gamma–Memphis ’82)

Undergraduate Award of Distinction
Jesse A. Sheldon (Zeta Mu–Univ. of Washington ’14)


Greek Life Professional of the Year Award recognizes outstanding work on a college campus, and the various chapters of the Order submit nominations. This year’s recipient is Meg S. Pevarski, Director of Greek Life, at the University of Richmond, Eta Chapter.

The Alumnus Advisor of the Year Award is given annually to recognize an alumnus advisor for excellence and achievement. This year, the recipient is Ronny J. Snow (Gamma Tau–Sam Houston State ’87), alumnus advisor to Gamma Tau Chapter at Sam Houston State University.

The Faculty Advisor of the Year award was established to annually recognize a faculty advisor for excellence and achievement. This year, the recipient is Brad Bundy, faculty advisor to Epsilon Lambda Chapter at Miami University in Ohio. Brad Bundy is the Senior Associate Vice President for University Advancement at Miami University, and, has two sons that are initiates of Epsilon Lambda Chapter.


The William E. Forester Alumni Chapter Award is given in memory of William E. Forester, Former Executive Director, Executive Vice President and Archivist, to recognize the most outstanding Alumni Chapter. Congratulations to the Joplin, Missouri Alumni Chapter and president, Chad E. Waggoner (Delta Pi–Missouri Southern State ’93).

Certificates of Service
Over the years, the Order has been shaped by members, supporters, and leaders. Both national administrative staff and our devoted volunteer leaders give time and energy to the betterment of our members and the entire Order — but there comes a time where they must conclude certain aspects of their service.

Stephen E. Foster (Beta Chi–West Virginia Wesleyan ’68), Hamilton Province Commander (2009-2017)
D. Brook Sebren (Gamma Nu–Louisiana-Monroe ’09), White Province Commander (2013-2017)
Douglas S. Ewalt (Beta Omega–Washington College ’68), Wood Province Commander (2000-2017)
Nina B. CampbellAssistant to the Executive Director (2008-2017)

Robert E. Lee Appreciation Award was established to

recognize persons who have credibly interpreted the life of Robert E. Lee to the American people in contemporary times.  Scott Bowden was recognized for his personal efforts to educate the American public on the life and legacy of Robert E. Lee after his presentation on Lee during Convention Session I.

Chiles Province Court of Honor

The Court of Honor system was established for each Province to recognize brothers in the region for their outstanding service to the Order and accomplishments which have brought honor to Kappa Alpha Order. Congratulations to the following bothers were inducted into the Henry Clay Chiles Province (Missouri) Court of Honor.

Tullis D. Beasley (Delta Rho–Valdosta State ’09)
Robert E. Deal, Jr. (Alpha Eta–Westminster ’15)
Brent W. Fellows (Epsilon Theta–Western Kentucky ’98)
Anthony M. Graziani (Zeta Pi–Florida Gulf Coast ’07)
Douglas W. Hanisch (Epsilon Tau–Northern Arizona ’98)
Neil A. Stewart (Beta Alpha–Missouri S&T ’99)

Blog Categories