Kappa Alpha Order

Ole Miss Remembers Brothers with $60,000 Donation

“One of the biggest fears of a parent who has lost a child is that the child will be forgotten,” said Ken Wilbanks, whose son, Bryant Mason Wilbanks, was among three brothers killed in a tragic car accident.

All members of the University of Mississippi’s Alpha Upsilon Chapter, Wilbanks, Charles Walker Kelly and Samuel Clayton Kelly were lifelong friends who pledged in fall of 2011. They were never initiated.

The Alpha Upsilon Chapter’s generous $60,000 donation to the Kelly, Kelly and Wilbanks Memorial Scholarship Endowment demonstrates their commitment to remembering the lives and examples of these young men. The endowment provides scholarships to the KA brothers that keep their legacy alive.

“Receiving this scholarship is an honor—not only to myself, but an honor that I get to represent three amazing young men who were members of our chapter,” said junior Dillon Pitts, one of this year’s honorees, who hopes the scholarship will help him realize his dream to attend law school.

Pitts joins his brothers Kyle Thigpen and Michael Deauville in receiving this honor based on leadership, academic performance and financial need. Deauville hopes to go on to medical school, while Thigpen intends to work for an accounting firm.

“It is truly humbling and such an honor to be able to present these three scholarships annually to active KA members in memory of Mason, Sam Clayton, and Walker,” said Ken Wilbanks. “I know our boys are smiling, knowing they are continuing to help those in the fraternity that they loved so much at the university they loved so dearly.”

The endowment has grown to more than $335,000 and is open to gifts from individuals and organizations. Vice President of the UM Foundation Sandra Guest said, “KA has turned a tragic situation into a lasting tribute, ensuring the legacy of Mason, Sam Clayton and Walker will forever remain at OleMiss.”

To contribute to the Kelly, Kelly and Wilbanks Scholarship, please call (662) 915-5208, or visit: http://www.umfoundation.com/makeagift.

Kappa Alpha fraternity brothers (with plaques, from left) Michael Deauville, Kyle Thigpen and Dillon Pitts, recipients of the 2017 Kelly, Kelly and Wilbanks Scholarship, are joined by (from left) chapter President Hayden Poer, Lynn and Ken Wilbanks, Chris and Christine Kelly, and Sam and Kim Kelly. Photo by Bill Dabney



Blog Categories