Kappa Alpha Order


78th Convention Recap

Congratulations, Knight Commander Simmons!

On Saturday, August 3rd, C. Douglas Simmons III (Beta Tau–Mississippi State ’95) was installed as Kappa Alpha Order’s 41st Knight Commander. Former Knight Commanders shared their thoughts and congratulations to Knight Commander Simmons in the video below

Recap Video of the 78th Convention & Brotherhood Weekend

Brotherhood down in the Bayou

Convention returns to New Orleans for the fifth time

By Jesse Lyons

The 78th Convention and Brotherhood weekend was held on from August 1 through August 4 in New Orleans, Louisiana. The headquarters and all main meetings were held at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans on Loyola Street. Knight Commander Darren S. Kay welcomed the official family, our province and national volunteers, the staff, and families, at Arnauds for a kick-off dinner. Thursday played host to The Values Quarter, a trade-show type event near registration with vendor- and exhibitor-partners of the Order showcasing more than 20 booths. The traveling archives were also displayed with New Orleans and Louisiana KA history featured.

During Convention Session I, brothers and friends of the Order were recognized, the Knight Commander’s Biennial Report was delivered, and it was revealed that the Active Members once again attained a near-record 3.0 National GPA. The perfunctory business of assignments of committees rounded out the affair, and then the Convention was called into Executive Session to receive a particular report and hear the reading of a historic 1913 letter from Dr. Samuel Zenas Ammen, our Practical Founder. That night the KAOEF’s largest ever Crimson & Gold Society Dinner was held at Galatoire’s thanks to the generous support of the Foundation’s Chairman and President, Derick S. Close (Alpha Omega–North Carolina State ’78).

On Friday, the attendees welcomed three new brothers during the Model Initiation ceremony at St. Charles Avenue Presbyterian Church. This church was the site of the same ceremony in 1999, and was lead by Rev. Donald Frampton (Rho–South Carolina ’72) until the previous year. Rev. Frampton is the son of the Rev. Dr. William McLeod Frampton, Former Knight Commander.

The KAOEF Board of Trustees held their meeting. That afternoon, after the Legislative, Finance, and Resolutions Committees met, the attendees were treated to a special outing to the World War II Museum. Thanks to leadership gifts from Dr. Russell Saloom (Gamma Phi–Louisiana-Lafayette ’74) and E.L. Scott McLain (Epsilon Zeta–Arkansas Tech ’84) each undergraduate attendee was able to tour the two exhibits, “The Road to Tokyo” and “The Road Berlin.” The KAOEF’s 22nd Annual Bid for Brotherhood (B4B) was held at the Museum that evening. After “fund of need,” games, and the silent and live auctions, the evening netted approximately $99,000—putting the aggregate B4B total at more than $1.01 million since inception. These funds are directly used to support leadership education programs and scholarships for our undergraduate members.

Saturday was spent in the hotel, but it was not without excitement. The province breakfast allowed fellowship and dealings amongst the Province Commander’s and their chapters. The Undergraduate and Alumni Conferences met and then all gathered for the KAOEF’s 16th Leadership Lecture Luncheon. Dr. Robin P.W. Havers (Alpha Eta–Westminster ’14) delivered a speech about George C. Marshall, Robert E. Lee, and the need to embrace, learn from, and preserve history in the world.

The afternoon gave host to Convention Session II. The committee reports were all received and adopted unanimously, thanks to the able leadership of three Former Knight Commanders: Legislative Committee Chairman David M. Warren, Finance Committee Chairman Ben W. Satcher, Jr., and Resolutions Committee Chairman J. Michael Duncan. The Convention elected the 41st Knight Commander, C. Douglas Simmons III, and Senior Councilor David P. Barksdale. Retiring Councilor Sam O. Leake, Jr. was honored with a joint resolution of the Executive Council and Convention. The remaining Councilors were retained and additionally Malcolm H. Liles and David T. Martineau, Jr. were elected.

Saturday evening, the Crimson & Gold Society and Knight Commander’s Accolade Reception took place concurrently with the Convention Reception highlighting the Loyal Order and Forever KA. The official Convention photo was shot, and the Knight Commander’s Installation Banquet was held to cap the weekend. After a rousing KA Chorus performance lead by former Councilor Leake, the Knight Commander was installed, and Brother Simmons delivered his first address. As all departed the Big Easy, a site of so much KA history with a new chapter added, peace and harmony carried each on safe travels home.

Awards and Recognition

Thursday, August 1, 2019

Alumnus Advisors of the Year
Fred Neely (Epsilon-Emory ’63), Epsilon–Emory
Andrew West (Epsilon­–Emory ’90), Epsilon–Emory

Faculty Advisory of the Year
Shelley Hanna, Epsilon Zeta–Arkansas Tech*

Award for Fraternal Excellence (formerly Greek Life Professional of the Year)
Parice S. Bowser, Alpha Omicron–University of Arkansas

William E. Forester Alumni Chapter Award
Acadiana Alumni Chapter

Knight Commander Accolades
Todd D. Reaves (Nu–Auburn ’88)

Friday, August 2, 2019

Sinclair Bert Kouns, Jr.
Scott Hansen Walter
Robert Paul Wilbanks 

Saturday, August 3, 2019

Service to the Order Awards
Alpha Iota–Centenary, Model Initiation Team
Gamma Alpha–Louisiana Tech, Model Initiation Team   

Certificates of Honor
Dr. Robin P.W. Havers (Alpha Eta–Westminster ’14), KAOEF Leadership Lecturer
David H. Alexander (Gamma Alpha–Louisiana Tech ’13), Model Initiation Director*

NIC Award of Distinction
Michael H. Esposito (Zeta Phi–High Point ’14)

Knight Commander Accolades
Dewitt C. David (Gamma Phi–Louisiana-Lafayette ’63)
John A. “Jay” Montalbano (Alpha Gamma–Louisiana State ’96)

*not present; to be presented at later date

Blog Categories