Kappa Alpha Order

Our Order

Singleton wins Outstanding First-Year Student Advocate Award

Singleton with Jennifer Keup, executive director of the National Resource Center

Gregory R. Singleton (Gamma Gamma–Memphis ’82), Forester Province Commander and National Scholarship Officer, was recently recognized by the National Resource Center for the First-Year Experience and Students in Transition as one of 10 national recipients of their Outstanding First-Year Student Advocate Award.

For more than 30 years, the award has honored college faculty, administrators, staff, and students for their outstanding work on behalf of first-year students and the impact their efforts have on the students and culture of their institutions.

Singleton currently serves as the Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students at Austin Peay State University in Clarksville, TN.

This year’s recipients were formally recognized at the 39th Annual Conference on The First-Year Experience held February 21-24, 2020, in Washington, D.C.

  • Amy Baldwin, University of Central Arkansas
  • DeOnte Brown, Clemson University
  • Carol Dochen, Texas State University
  • Julie McLaughlin, Cincinnati State Technical & Community College
  • Katherine Powell, Berry College
  • Rebecca Royal, Union County College
  • Gregory Singleton, Austin Peay State University
  • Heather Thrush, Wabash College
  • Mary Ellen Wade, Loyola University Maryland
  • Annette Walstad, Carroll College

“This rich tradition of this award includes more than three decades of recognizing the outstanding work that takes place making immeasurable impact on the lives of first-year students,” said Jennifer Keup, executive director of the National Resource Center. “It’s an absolute honor to add ten names to the esteemed ones who have previously received this honor.”

Blog Categories