Kappa Alpha Order

Modern Gentlemen

Archive of: Alumni

Overcoming Adversity to Publish Book

Published on: December 16, 2019

by Rick Moore Scott Sergent (Delta Delta–East Tennessee State ’85), writing under the pen name of Ivan Scott, has released his second novel, Redhead in a Blue Convertible. It’s the story of a Georgia doctor whose life crumbles when she loses a patient, and how she learns to appreciate her life again when she meets…

Read More

Thibodaux Alumni Chapter Update – Fall 2019

Published on: November 19, 2019

The Thibodaux Alumni Chapter, recently chartered in 2019, holds their inaugural Family Day Tailgate at Nicholls State University. Pictured is eight former Epsilon Beta Number I’s. Submitted by Scott M. Pellegrin (Epsilon Beta–Nicholls State ’09), Alumni Chapter President

Read More

2019 Hamilton Court of Honor

Published on: November 7, 2019

The Hamilton Province Court of Honor held an induction ceremony on Friday, October 25, 2019, on the campus of Marshall University. Approximately 35 members of the Beta Upsilon Chapter were present along with Court members Hamilton Province Commander Jim Ransbottom, Mike Chandler, Mike Miller, Bucky Brackman, Bill Cohee, Jim Kirtley, and their wives. Three distinguished…

Read More

Alumni Chapter Update – Southwest Louisiana Alumni Chapter – Fall 2019

Published on: October 29, 2019

We had our first annual meeting of the Southwest Louisiana Alumni Chapter at the newly renovated KA house last Thursday, October 24th, which was the 50th anniversary date of the Delta Xi’s founding.  It was a great event attended by both the alumni and active chapters.  The attached photo is of Steven Gros (Delta Xi–McNeese…

Read More

Honored by Boy Scouts with Americanism Awards

Published on: October 17, 2019

The Northwest Texas Council of Boy Scouts of America (BSA) recognized Stephen A. “Reno” Gustafson (Gamma Omega–Midwestern State ’76) with the Americanism Award, which honors those “who have truly exhibited the ideals and values of being an American.” A luncheon was held at the Wichita Falls Country Club on Tuesday, November 13, 2018, with Kent R….

Read More

Engineering Honor Society Honors Georgia Tech Alumnus

Published on: October 10, 2019

Tau Beta Pi, the Engineering Honor Society, has named William E. “Bill Jennings (Alpha Sigma–Georgia Tech ’82) as one of their 2019 recipients of its Distinguished Alumnus Award. Now in its 23rd year, the award recognizes alumni who have demonstrated adherence to the ideals of Tau Beta Pi and to fostering a spirit of liberal…

Read More

Tulsa Alumnus Inducted into HS Sports Hall of Fame

Published on: October 2, 2019

By Olivia Indelicato James D. “Jim” Miller (Mu–Tulsa ’63) was inducted into the Edison High School Hall of Fame as a Distinguished Alumni at the first annual Edison Prep Distinguished Alumni Award Ceremony on September 11, 2019. Jim is one of three inaugural inductees, alongside former Tulsa mayor Susan Savage, and Spencer Tillman, a current…

Read More

Ole Miss Alumnus Remembered with Scholarship

Published on: October 1, 2019

The late Glenn W. Cofield (Alpha Upsilon–Mississippi ’80) of Memphis, Tennessee, was known for waiting by cash registers at the grocery store, paying bills for large families and then leaving before anyone could thank him. He was a community servant who wanted no accolades. “Everyone should know how giving Glenn Cofield was and how much…

Read More

Arkansas State Alumnus in to High School Sports Hall of Fame

Published on: October 1, 2019

Russell R. “Bo” Gamblin II (Delta Eta–Arkansas State ’90) was inducted into the Rector High School (Arkansas) Sports Hall of Fame as members of the class of 2019, at the annual RHSSHOF luncheon on Saturday, August 31st. Bo was a two-sport athlete at Clay County Central 1986 through 1989.  He lettered in football three (3)…

Read More

“Transformational Coach” as Described by EMissourian.com

Published on: October 1, 2019

Justin M. Grahl (Alpha Eta–Westminster ’10) made headlines this summer in the eMissourian.com for being named head football coach at Union High School in Union, MO. Described in the publication as a “transformational coach” with “a proven record of putting student-athletes first,” Grahl has served as an assistant football coach at Union since 2016. He also…

Read More

Blog Categories