Kappa Alpha Order


Archive of: Values

2020-21 KAOEF Scholarship Recipients

Published on: October 19, 2020

The Kappa Alpha Order Educational Foundation (KAOEF) Scholarship Program remains an important benefit to members of Kappa Alpha Order. As a primary focus of the KAOEF, these academic, merit and needs-based scholarships serve as an inspiration for excellence inside and out of the classroom and oftentimes prove the difference in whether recipients can continue their undergraduate…

Read More

Centenary Number I Serves as Governor’s Fellow

Published on: October 15, 2020

Though Covid-19 limited what many of us did last summer, Patrick Riley (Alpha Iota–Centenary ’19) spent part of the summer months participating in the 2020 Governor’s Fellows Program in Louisiana Government in Baton Rouge. A senior and a political science major at Centenary, and the president of Alpha Iota, Riley underwent an arduous application process…

Read More

Satcher Elected as President of FSPAC

Published on: October 5, 2020

The Fraternity and Sorority Political Action Committee (FSPAC) has elected Former Knight Commander Ben W. Satcher, Jr. as its President for the 2021. Ben is the Executive Vice President for the Kappa Alpha Order Educational Foundation and recently completed a term as President of the Foundation for Fraternal Excellence. The FSPAC is the largest political…

Read More

Louisiana Tech Alumnus Named to Association of for Healthcare Philanthropy’s 40 Under 40

Published on: October 1, 2020

The Association for Healthcare Philanthropy (AHP) recently released it 40 Under 40 Program recipients for 2020, and Kappa Alpha Order Educational Foundation (KAOEF) Trustee Erik T. Showalter (Gamma Alpha–Louisiana Tech ’02) was included in the listing. The AHP’s 40 Under 40 Program recognizes the future leaders within the healthcare development community and honors the industry’s…

Read More

LSU Alumnus Honored by American Bar Association

Published on: September 30, 2020

Edmund J. Giering IV (Alpha Gamma–Louisiana State ’87) was recently named the 2020 recipient of the Outstanding In-House Counsel Award for distinguished service by a nonprofit in-house counsel by the Nonprofit Organizations Committee of the American Bar Association, Business Law Section. As General Counsel of the Baton Rouge Area Foundation (Baton Rouge, Louisiana), Giering’s practice…

Read More

Ole Miss Alumnus Elected to Mississippi House of Representatives

Published on: September 25, 2020

In the November 5th, 2019 general election, Clay Deweese (Alpha Upsilon–Mississippi ’01) won a seat in the Mississippi House of Representatives. He defeated Tiffany Kilpatrick for Mississippi’s 12th District. Clay said that he is excited and honored to represent the people of District 12 in a press release announcing his candidacy. “The opportunity to represent…

Read More

Mississippi State Alumnus honored by Southern Public Relations Federation

Published on: September 25, 2020

Checky Herrington (Beta Tau–Mississipi State ’76) was honored with the 2019 Professional Achievement Awarded by the Southern Public Relations Federation (SPRF). The SPRF established this award to recognize an individual that has continually demonstrated the highest ideals of the profession as well as a commitment to advance the profession of public relations. Joined by his…

Read More

Simpson Receives Young Alumnus Award from Francis Marion University

Published on: September 25, 2020

W.R. “Cody” Simpson III (Delta Tau–Francis Marion ’11) was awarded the Benjamin Wall Ingram III Young Alumnus Award by Francis Marion University at its annual Alumni Awards Gala at the FMU Performing Arts Center on Thursday, February 28th, 2019. Simpson, who is special assistant to South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster, graduated from FMU in 2013…

Read More

SHSU Names New Tennis Complex after Chuck Beckner

Published on: September 24, 2020

During the Texas State University System Board of Regents quarterly meeting on August 13-14, approval was given for the naming of SHSU’s future tennis complex to the Chuck and Wanda Beckner Tennis Center. To be located south of Bowers and Sanders Stadiums, the facility will provide more (and better) courts for matches and practice, opportunities…

Read More

Jordan to Serve as 2019 Mississippi State Alumni Fellow

Published on: September 14, 2020

Dr. John W. Jordan (Beta Tau–Mississippi State ’72) was recently selected as a 2019 Alumni Fellow by the Mississippi State University Alumni Association. Selected by each of the eight academic colleges, the Program recognizes alumni who have distinguished themselves in their respective careers, and Fellows are invited to return to campus to meet with students,…

Read More

Blog Categories