Award Recipient

Mitchell B. “Mic” Wilson

Awarded: Accolade for Interfraternal Service – August 12, 2023

Mitchell B. Wilson was just made Executive Director Emeritus of Kappa Sigma Fraternity in May. Mic retried as the longest-serving Executive Director for Kappa Sigma, a position he held for 36 years.

Mic Wilson was initiated into Kappa Sigma at the University of Kentucky in 1978. Upon graduation from UK in 1980, he was employed by the Kappa Sigma Fraternity as a Chapter Consultant at the International Headquarters in Charlottesville, Virginia. Mic served in the positions of Executive Assistant, Director of Chapter Operations, Director of Public Relations, served two terms as Acting Executive Director, and eleven years as Editor of the Caduceus Magazine of Kappa Sigma Fraternity. Mic was appointed as Executive Director at the 56th Grand Conclave in Indianapolis, Indiana in 1987. In total, Mic served 43 years on Kappa Sigma’s staff.

Mic and his wife Joan make their home in Lexington, Kentucky, and will celebrate their 38th anniversary this year. They have one son, a Kappa Sigma brother, Teddy, and three grandchildren who reside in Versailles, Kentucky. Mic holds a Master of Business Administration Degree from Averett University and is a graduate of the Executive Development Program of the American Society of Association Executives and the University of Maryland.

Mic was inducted to the University of Kentucky Fraternity and Sorority Life Hall of Fame, the Beta-Nu Chapter of Kappa Sigma Hall of Fame and was inducted into the Kappa Sigma Hall of Honor in 2013 as the 18th member.

Mic has been an inspirational leader and mentor to many in the fraternal industry and made innumerable contributions. He has been transformational for Kappa Sigma. When Mic joined the Kappa Sigma Staff, the Fraternity has 178 chapters and colonies, and 9,500 undergraduate members. During his service as Executive Director, Kappa Sigma has grown to 290 chapters and colonies and over 17,000 undergraduate members.

Mic served as President of the Fraternity Executives Association in 2000 and is a recipient of the FEA Distinguished Service Award. He is also a recipient of the Southeastern Greek Leadership Association Durward W. Owen Interfraternal Service Award.