Undergraduate Chapter

Alpha Beta Chapter

University of Alabama

The Alpha Beta Chapter was established on 06/17/1885 at University of Alabama. This chapter is located in Tuscaloosa, AL.

  • Founder(s): Phares Coleman, J. H. Webb, J. E. Long
  • Charter: June 17, 1885, J. S. Candler
  • Charter Members: Eugene DuBose Bondurant, Lewis Walter Pearson, William Thomas Poe, Edward Madison Shackelford

Distinguished Alumni

  • Clyde B. Anderson – Initiated 1979 – Executive Chairman and former President and CEO of Books-A-Million
  • Roger Bedford, Jr. – Initiated 1975 – State Senator, Alabama
  • William C. Vlachos – Initiated 2007 – All-American center and two-time National Champion for the Alabama Crimson Tide (2009 & 2011)