Undergraduate Chapter

Alpha Kappa Chapter

University of Missouri

The Alpha Kappa Chapter was established on 09/30/1891 at the University of Missouri. This chapter is located in Columbia, MO. A provisional chapter was inducted on Tuesday, September 29, 2020. The chapter completed its chartering requirements and was fully reinstated as the Alpha Kappa Chapter on Friday, November 19, 2021.

  • Founder(s): W. K. Conley, H. H. Hurt, F. S. Calloway, J. A. Hope, R. L. Motely, all Alpha Delta
  • Charter: September 30, 1891, S. Z. Ammen
  • Charter Members: William Kirtley Conley, Jesse J. Duncan, James Paul White, Charles Morgan Howell, Orrin Wilber Granger, Levy Spurgeon Turner, Henry Austin Martin, Aylmer Browning Morris Jr.

Distinguished Alumni

  • Loren Q. Hanson – Initiated 1950 – 30th Knight Commander of Kappa Alpha Order from 1977 to 1981
  • Jack R. Taylor – Initiated 1950 – 31st Knight Commander of Kappa Alpha Order from 1981 to 1985
  • James R. Estes – Initiated 1960 – 35th Knight Commander of Kappa Alpha Order from 1997 to 2001