Kappa Alpha Order


The Delta Chapter was established on 02/23/1869 at Wofford College. This chapter is located in Spartanburg, SC.

Founder(s): W. A. Rogers, Alpha

Established: February 23, 1869, by S. Z. Ammen, K.C.

Charter: Issued in 1872, W. W. Collins

Charter Members: Hope Hull Newton, Edwin Wiley Peeples, Lawrence DeKalb Hamer, John Woods, William Anson Rogers

Distinguished Alumni

  • Jerry Richardson – Initiated 1957 – Owner, NFL Carolina Panthers; former professional football player with the Baltimore Colts; Wofford College receiver
  • Marshall L. Meaders – Initiated 1952 – Retired Bishop, United Methodist Church
  • William H. Wallace – Initiated 1969 – 7th Knight Commander of Kappa Alpha Order, 1876 to 1877
  • Philip B. Hamer – Initiated 1878 – 12th Knight Commander of Kappa Alpha Order, 1887 to 1889
  • Paul Atkins – Initiated 1978- former Commissioner of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
  • Don Fowler – Initiated 1954 – former Chairman of the Democratic National Committee
  • Ellison D. Smith – Initiated 1934 – U.S. Senator, from South Carolina

Key Stats

Chapter Status: active

Alumnus Advisor: Grant Close

Chapter GPA: 3.17

Chapter Members: 62