Undergraduate Chapter

Delta Eta Chapter

Arkansas State University

The Delta Eta Chapter was established in 1967 at Arkansas State University. The charter members formed a group called the “Statesmen.”to play intramurals on campus. Sammy R. Gennuso was one of two faculty advisors to the Statesmen. He stayed on a faculty advisor to Delta Eta for over 30 years. After three years, the Statesmen formally petitioned for a charter with Kappa Alpha Order in May of 1967, and in July they received a letter of acceptance for the KA National Headquarters. Thirty-four members of the Statesmen would compromise the charter members of Delta Eta Chapter. William J. Graham, Assistant Executive Secretary of KA, arrived in Jonesboro on October 9, 1967 for a week of lecturing to the prospective KA initiates. On Friday, October 13, a banquet was held in ASU’s Reng Center to celebrate the occasion. William E. Forester, KA Executive Secretary, was the featured speaker. Officers from Gamma Gamma Chapter, Memphis State University, and Gamma Omicron Chapter, Lambuth College, performed the initiation.

Distinguished Alumni

  • Bill Bergey – Initiated 1967 – four-time All-Pro player; member of the Philadelphia Eagles Honor Roll