Six Alumni Recognized during 2024 Candler Court of Honor

Following a day of fellowship and horse racing at Keeneland, the John S. Candler Court of Honor held their annual induction ceremony on Saturday, April 13, 2024, at Malone’s Lansdowne in Lexington, Kentucky. More than sixty brothers and friends gathered to celebrate our beloved Kappa Alpha Order and those distinguished alumni who have given their time, energy and service to KA.

Following a reception, Assistant Executive Director for Alumni Affairs Brent W. Fellows (Epsilon Theta–Western Kentucky ’98) welcomed attendees and provided the Invocation. Following dinner, Traylor Province Commander Collin B. Taylor (Delta Mu–Eastern Kentucky ’96) gave an update on the Province and representatives of each chapter in Kentucky provided an update from their year. Dr. James M. Schmuck (Alpha Eta–Westminster ’69), a member of KA’s Executive Council, gave the State of the Order and presented Hon. Laurance B. VanMeter (Chi–Vanderbilt ’77), Chief Justice of the Kentucky Supreme Court, with the Order’s Distinguished Public Service Award. Finally, Daniel H. Miller (Theta–Kentucky ’80) and Michael D. Boley (Delta Mu–Eastern Kentucky ’95) the Candler Court of Honor’s Preceptor and Registrar conducted the Induction Ceremony.

The following men were recognized and invested with the provincial cross of honor in recognition of their outstanding service to the Order and accomplishments which have brought honor to Kappa Alpha Order.

  • Cooper W. Carroll (Delta Kappa–Stephen F. Austin State ’17)
  • Joshua I. Hale (Delta Mu–Eastern Kentucky ’00)
  • John Richard Hutchings IV (Theta–Kentucky ’77)
  • John E. Pfingston (Alpha Theta–Transylvania ’04)
  • Jason S. Smith (Delta Eta–Arkansas State ’94)
  • James W. Wheeler II (Delta Mu–Eastern Kentucky ’94)

View more photos on the Order’s Facebook page.

Inductees with certificates and officers
(L-R) Candler Court Preceptor Dan Miller, with 2024 Inductees Carroll, Smith, Hale, Wheeler, Hutchings, and Pfingston, and Candler Court Registrar Michael Boley