Theta Commission

The Citadel

  • Province


  • Founding Date


Commissions elect and initiate graduates (and graduating seniors, faculty, staff, and administration) of their respective institutions.  Contact Jesse S. Lyons, Assistant Executive Director for Advancement, for any questions. Recommend a potential brother for one of these commissions.

Originally founded as Theta Second Chapter.

Founder(s): W. E. Lucas, G. A. Norwood

Charter: October 1, 1883, J. S. Candler

Charter Members: William Edward Dick, Francis Ovid Spain Sr., Paul Hout Tamplet

Notes: Succeeded on October 3, 2008, as Theta Commission, established by Knight Commander J. M. Duncan with Julian V. Brandt III, Alexander S. Crawford Jr., Myron C. Harrington Jr., James A. W. Rembert, Hugh B. Tant III

Distinguished Alumni

  • MG Roger C. Poole, USA – Initiated 2010 – former President, The Citadel
  • Rt. Rev. William J. Skilton – Initiated 2010 – Assistant Bishop, Dominican Episcopal Church in the Dominican Republic; past Bishop Suffragan, Episcopal Diocese of South Carolina; Past President, South Carolina Christian Action Council