Western Carolina Provisional Chapter Established

On Saturday, September 17, 2022, a group of eighteen men at Western Carolina University were inducted into Kappa Alpha Order as members awaiting initiation.  The ceremony was held on campus in the Catamount Room of the A.K. Hinds University Center.

Robert H. “Rob” Wall (Tau–Wake Forest ’95), Commander of Smith Province, installed the chapter officers and led the Induction Ceremony with Alumnus Advisor Jace Stowe (Delta Alpha–Western Carolina ’81), and Associate Director for Chapter Services Levi A. Dees (Delta Upsilon–Tennessee-Martin ’18).

In addition to family, friends, and alumni, Director of Chapter Development Jacob A. Seay (Zeta Omega–Coastal Carolina ’17)  and Director of College and University Relations Cooper W. Carroll (Delta Kappa–Stephen F. Austin State ’17) were also present.

The group was presented with their provisional certificate issued by Executive Director Larry Stanton Wiese. They are now the Western Carolina University Provisional Chapter. Once they have completed their chartering requirements, they will petition the Knight Commander to regain their charter and be an active chapter in good standing.

Congratulations to the men who were inducted and those installed as officers of the new chapter.

  • James Michael Bagley – New Bern, North Carolina
  • Jonas Noble Boston – Bessemer City, North Carolina
  • Jonas Everett Cilento – Apex, North Carolina
  • Austin Michael Cornett – Garnett, Kansas
  • Samuel Andres Dill – Wilmington, North Carolina
  • Nicholas Carter Holmes – Winston-Salem, North Carolina
  • Nathaniel Ruffin Hyder – Cary, North Carolina
  • Jessie Grayson Johnson, Number I– Millboro, North Carolina
  • Lucas Franklin Johnson – Cornelius, North Carolina
  • Thomas Harold Lafferty – Huntersville, North Carolina
  • Ian Blake Mitchell, Number III– Gastonia, North Carolina
  • Caleb Matthew Payseur – Bessemer City, North Carolina
  • Harrison Winn Rhodes – Roanoke, Virginia
  • Matthew Alexander Riggs, Number II– Bonlee, North Carolina
  • Matthew James Salerno – Hampton Township, New Jersey
  • David Frederick Sparrow – Chapel Hill, North Carolina
  • William Parker Wareham – Greensboro, North Carolina
  • Samuel Anthony Watkins – Raleigh, North Carolina