Alpha Kappa Chapter Restored at Missouri

On Friday, November 19th, 2021, Knight Commander C. Douglas Simmons III (Beta Tau–Mississippi State ’95) re-issued the Alpha Kappa Charter to the gentlemen of the University of Missouri Provisional Chapter. The ceremony and banquet were held at The Atrium on Tenth in Columbia, Missouri, and were well attended by alumni, parents, staff, and volunteers.

Since the provisional chapter was established in September of 2020, the chapter worked to recruit thirty-two (32) members while achieving a 3.210 Fall 2020 grade point average and a 3.128 Spring 2021 grade point average. Members also became involved with philanthropy and service efforts within the Columbia community and on campus. Throughout the past academic year, the members completed more than one hundred hours of community service and raised more than $2,500 for the Muscular Dystrophy Association and The Independence Fund. In addition to club sports of basketball and flag football, members of the Chapter are involved in other campus organizations including Reformed University Fellowship, College Republicans, Newman Center, Alpha Phi Omega, Phi Alpha Delta, Mizzou Esports Media, and the Undergraduate Statistics Club.

“Over the past year, the…Chapter has demonstrated a strong commitment towards building an influential and productive KA chapter,” Chiles Province Commander M. Tyler Griffin (Alpha Delta–William Jewell ’98) commented in the Ballot for Restoration. “They have a solid list of accomplishments that will serve as a foundation for continued, successful chapter operations. From an exemplary GPA, to raising money and contributing hours to philanthropic endeavors, to their recruitment efforts that have grown the chapter to over 30 men; they have a firm understanding for what is expected from all KA chapters.”

Executive Director Larry Stanton Wiese (Gamma Omega–Midwestern State ’87) welcomed all attendees and gave opening remarks, Housing Corporation President Terrill L. “Terry” Lister (Alpha Kappa–Missouri ’68) led the pledge of allegiance, and Alumnus Advisor Thaddeus A. “Thad” Stubbs (Alpha Eta–Westminster ’96) gave the invocation.  Following dinner,  Number I William K. R. “Will” Shafer (Alpha Kappa–Missouri ’21) gave an address from the Chapter, Senior Council King V. Aiken, Jr. (Kappa–Mercer ’83) installed the chapter officers and presented them with their officer jewels with the assistance of Former Knight Commander James R. “Jim” Estes (Alpha Kappa–Missouri ’60). To conclude the evening, Knight Commander C. Douglas Simmons III gave his remarks and presented the Alpha Kappa Charter, and Former Knight Commander Estes gave the benediction.

View photos from the banquet on KA’s Facebook page.

The Chapter Members were initiated on Saturday, November 13th, by members of the Alpha Eta Chapter and Beta Alpha Chapter at the Chapter House on the campus of the University of Missouri.

Re-founding Brothers of Alpha Kappa Chapter

Austin F. Albers
Shane R. Berliner
Adam D.D. Booker
Andrew J. Boyer
Trenton D. Brown
Thomas E. Calaluce
Nicholas A. Ebers
Ryan A. Finley
Ross D. Gallentine
Raul C. Garcia
Yusseph G. Hammound

Paul B. Heslin
Owen D. Heslin
Luke R. Hiles
Gavin S. LaBell
Daniel J. Morgan
Raymond K. Owens
Andrew C. Perez
Logan C. Potts
Owen A. Risse
Connor W. Ronsick
Frank J. Sacco

Maverick R. Sadler
William K.R. Shafer
Isaac G. Soifer
Jack M. Stevens
Tyler A. Strickland
Bryson C. Stuehmer
Benjamin L. Torres
William G. Wicker
Timothy C. Williams
Andrew T. Zurheide