Auburn Singer-Songwriter Releases First Full-Length Album

Reid with guitar on lap

On May 17, 2024, River House Artists’ Southern Rock-inspired singer-songwriter Reid Haughton (Nu–Auburn ’17) released his debut album, Higher Than 9, available everywhere now. Built on a punchy, edgy mix of Southern rock, country, blues, and soul, the album features nine tracks produced by Sadler Vaden (the Grammy-winning guitarist for Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit and producer of Haughton’s self-titled EP). The songs have a down-home feel, pulling Haughton’s soulful twang front and center. Exuding swampy country rock energy, this project exemplifies the sound synonymous with Haughton’s name. Haughton also dropped an eye-catching visualizer for the title track in celebration of the album.

Listen here!

album cover“All of the songs on Higher Than 9 reflect my journey, heavily influenced by experiences on the road and built for live performances,” says Haughton. “I think there is something for everyone on this record, ranging from barn burners to love songs. We poured our hearts into these tunes and hope they bring you as much joy as they do us.”

Last year, Haughton released his self-titled debut EP, which included the previously released singles “Day You Don’t,” “She Is,” and “Can’t Please ‘Em All.” Hailing from small-town Haleyville, Alabama, just an hour from Muscle Shoals, he is steeped in the area’s musical history. He mixes contemporary Country melodies with modern Southern rock-inspired vocals. Shaped by his father’s vast taste in music, Haughton’s influences include everyone from Lynyrd Skynyrd to the Grateful Dead. Using powerful vocals and inspiring guitar work, Haughton’s sound appeals to Southern rockers and country fans alike

Higher Than 9 Track Listing:

  1. Higher Than 9 (Reid Haughton, Dan Fernandez, Faren Rachels)
  2. It Don’t Hurt (Reid Haughton, Andrew Petroff, Kendall Marvell)
  3. Man Made Money (Reid Haughton, Adam Hood)
  4. Don’t Get Wet (Reid Haughton, Justin Johnson, Autumn Buysse)
  5. Got To Give (Reid Haughton, Joe Clemmons, Lukas Klingensmith)
  6. Flicker (Reid Haughton, Ben Goldsmith, Luke Preston, Dan Couch)
  7. Mendoza Line (Reid Haughton, Rollie Gaalswyk, Luke Preston)
  8. Long-Haired Country Boy (Charlie Daniels)
  9. The Crow (Nicolette Hayford, Aaron Eshuis, Scott Stepakoff)

Album Title Track